2017 Leadership Scholarship Program Awards Ceremony

As C100’s signature event in China, the Leadership Scholarship Program was established in 2005 with the goal of recognizing and fostering the leadership potential of young Chinese students, encouraging better understanding and exchange between the U.S. and China. This year, 32 awardees selected from the top 18 institutions participated in the conference and mentoring program. Two panels were held: a panel discussion on “Innovation and Entrepreneurship” by LSP Alumni, and a panel discussion on “U.S.-China Relations: C100 Public Perceptions Opinion Survey 2017.” C100 member Dali Yang moderated the latter panel that featured fellow member George Koo; William Klein, Minister Counselor for Political Affairs at the U.S. Embassy in Beijing; William Zarit, Chairman of AmCham China; and Dr. Jia Qingguo, Dean of the School of International Studies at Peking University. The C100 LSP Awards Ceremony took place at the Beijing Marriott Hotel Northeast, thanks to sponsor HNA Group, and featured C100 member and celebrity in multiple media Kelly Cha as the gala MC. Speakers at the gala included Long Yongtu, Chief Negotiator of China’s entry into the World Trade Organization and former Vice Minister of the Ministry of Foreign Trade and Economic Cooperation; Tan Tianxing, Vice Minister of the Overseas Chinese Affairs Office; and U.S. Ambassador to China Terry Branstad. Ambassador Branstad told the story of his personal relationship with President Xi Jinping formed decades ago on an Iowa farm when they both were young men starting political careers, and highlighted C100 for its support of the Fulbright Scholarships in China through the recent launch of the $1 million “C100 U.S.-China Fulbright Fund.” It is C100’s hope to strengthen the next generation of U.S.-China bridge builders through initiatives such as the Leadership Scholarship Program and the Fulbright Fund.

Related Updates

Shanghai Communiqué 50th Anniversary Commemoration

2019 Greater China Conference and Gala

Committee of 100 Annual Beijing Delegation Trip 2017 | Summary and Photos


Carter Tseng

World-class leader in Information and Communication

Walter Wang

Accomplished entrepreneur and philanthropist

Frank H. Wu

Distinguished Academic

David C. Chang

Distinguished academic and leader in civic engagement

Dali Yang

Professor, University of Chicago

Howard Li

International business leader / Greater China Regional Chair

H. Roger Wang

Real-Estate Entrepreneur

Guoqing Chen

Philanthropic leader and Co-founder HNA airlines

Robert W. Gee

Political consultant and advisor / Washington D.C. Regional Chair

Richard Y. Lee

Chairman and CEO of Amsino Medical Group

Edmond Pi

Professor Emeritus at USC

Henry S. Tang

Managing Partner of Carnegie Towers Strategic Investment Advisory

Dazong Wang

Business management expert




  • Committee of 100

    Extraordinary Chinese Americans

  • Ensuring Full Inclusion in America
    Advancing U.S.-China Relations
  • Connect
  • Contact
  • Office Address:
    6 St. Johns Lane, 5th fl
    New York, NY 10013

    Mailing Address:
    C100, Church St Station
    PO Box 3504
    New York, NY 10008


  • Sign Up For Updates
  • * indicates required