C100 Washington Dialogue Spotlights Opinion Survey 2012 in DC

6a00e5520895f5883300e5539d53088833-150wiC100 presented key findings of its Opinion Survey 2012 to over 120 policy, business, academic, diplomatic, NGO, and non-profit leaders in Washington, D.C.

Chairman Dominic Ng introduced C100’s Principles of Guidance for Political Candidates on China-Related Issues. This statement encourages political candidates to refrain from China-bashing in upcoming election campaigns. Instead, C100’s Principles recommend the following actions: strengthen leader-to-leader understanding, dispel misperceptions, and encourage open communications to build mutual trust.


Diplomacy-DC-Jones Day Panel


Panel (left to right): Frank Wu, J. Stapleton Roy, Kenneth Lieberthal, Irene Hirano Inouye, Ernest J. Wilson.

Frank Wu highlighted the survey’s key findings and then engaged a panel of experts in a substantive exchange on the survey and its recommendations. Discussants were Irene Hirano Inouye, president of the U.S.-Japan Council and Chairwoman of the Ford Foundation; Kenneth Lieberthal, Director of the China Center, Brookings Institution; former U.S. Ambassador to China J. Stapleton Roy; and USC Dean of the Annenberg School Ernest Wilson.


Diplomacy-DC - Jones Day Audience


Audience listens to C100’s Survey Presentation.


C100 Member Delegation with Congresswoman Judy Chu, recognized for her leadership in the passage of House Resolution 683.

At the dinner that followed the presentation, Geoff Dabelko, Director of the Environmental Change and Security Program at the Woodrow Wilson Center, described the transformative impact of his participation in C100’s Civic Leaders Delegation to China in May.

The guest of honor, Congresswoman Judy Chu (CA-32), expressed gratitude to the Committee for its role in supporting the recent passage of House Resolution 683, a historic acknowledgment by Congress of the injustice of the Chinese Exclusion Laws. The Committee of 100 helped advance the passage of the measure as a member of the 1882 Project Steering committee, which spearheaded legislative and community outreach. C100 members presented Congresswoman Chu with a commemorative token of appreciation for her steadfast leadership and support.

Related Updates

Determined Sherry Chen Continues Quest for Justice

C100 Capitol Hill Briefing on “After the Pivot: What’s Next for U.S.-Asia Relations?”

C100 Members attend Kennedy Center Lunar New Year Concert in Washington D.C.


Dominic Ng

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of East West Bank

Frank H. Wu

Distinguished Academic




  • Committee of 100

    Extraordinary Chinese Americans

  • Ensuring Full Inclusion in America
    Advancing U.S.-China Relations
  • Connect
  • Contact
  • Office Address:
    6 St. Johns Lane, 5th fl
    New York, NY 10013

    Mailing Address:
    C100, Church St Station
    PO Box 3504
    New York, NY 10008


  • Sign Up For Updates
  • * indicates required