C100 Hosts Leadership Scholarship Program Awards Ceremony and Gala Dinner in Beijing

Mei-Wei Cheng
Richard Y. Lee
Howard Li
Edmond Pi
Carter Tseng
Dazong Wang
Frank H. Wu

On October 29, 2016, the Committee of 100 held the 2016 Leadership Scholarship Program award ceremony, recognizing next generation leaders for their potential as global citizens and service to the community. The full day affair included an awards ceremony recognizing 32 LSP scholars; panel discussion and mentoring sessions involving distinguished C100 members speaking on entrepreneurship and innovation as well as US-China relations; and a gala dinner at the Beijing International Hotel. Tan Tianxing, Vice Director of the Overseas Chinese Affairs Office of the State Council, and Sun Zhaohua, Deputy Administrator of the State Administration of Foreign Expert Affairs, delivered the gala keynote addresses.

LSP Awardees and C100 members (Mei-Wei Cheng, Dr. Richard Lee, China Co-Chair Howard Li, Dr. Edmond Pi, Dr. Carter Tseng, China Co-Chair Dr. Dazong Wang, and Chairman Frank H. Wu )


The day kicked off with the LSP Awards Ceremony, with nearly 70 LSP alumni and awardees in attendance. Each 2016 scholarship recipient presented a video introduction and several awardees ran for LSP Class President for the class of 2016, allowing all participants and C100 members a chance to vote on select individuals. Later in the afternoon, C100 members led two panel discussions, covering US-China relations, and global innovation and entrepreneurship. C100 members also participated in mentoring roundtable session, a signature feature of the Leadership Scholarship Program, with each member paired with a group of ten young leaders. Finally, C100 hosted a cocktail reception & gala dinner in celebration of the 2016 LSP award ceremony.

The gala dinner featured keynote remarks by Tan Tianxing, Vice Director of the Overseas Chinese Affairs Office of the State Council, and Sun Zhaohua, Deputy Administrator of the State Administration of Foreign Expert Affairs. Both remarks commended C100 for its important efforts to strengthen relations between the United States and China and for investing in next generation leaders in China, encouraging them to become global citizens.

The evening also featured inspiring musical performances by 2016 LSP awardee Bao Yuxin, violinist and PhD Candidate at Zhejiang University, and Chen Xi, master violinist and professor at China Central Conservatory of Music. LSP Judges Dr. Wu-Fu Chen and Dr. Edmond Pi announced the winning 2016 class president, Mr. Zheng Jie, a PhD student at Wuhan University.

LSP Panel
LSP Panel Discussion


LSP Mentoring Session







The Committee of 100’s Leadership Scholarship Program (LSP) was launched in 2005 in partnership with over ten prominent Chinese universities to recognize and foster the global leadership potential of Chinese graduate students. Through a rigorous and competitive process, scholarship awardees are Chinese graduate students, selected based on dedication to social responsibility, academic distinction and community leadership. Partnering universities include Fudan University, Jilin University, Nanjing University, Nankai University, Peking University, Shanghai Jiaotong University, Sichuan University, Sun Yat-Sen University, Tianjin University, Tsinghua University, University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, University of Science and Technology of China, Wuhan University, and Zhejiang University. Since its inception, the program has recognized nearly 300 students for their outstanding achievements.


More from this series

Explore our work by topic

Explore our research, programs, initiatives and events.